Adversity: Catalyst for Greatness

Sometimes ones circumstance may not allow them to freely follow their passion. That path is often obscured by an almost insurmountable obstacle. I have come to respect the notion that this adversity defines us. By forcing a mind into its dark recesses for long enough to stimulate growth. I find the appeal of Beethoven’s music to be enhanced by the knowledge of his hearing loss. He engaged the part of a consciousness that hears via memory & extrapolations therefrom. Monet was an impressive artist with a vast body of work spanning many years. It is said that his most revered paintings came from when he viewed his world filtered through cataracts. Monet resorted to labeling his paints to identify colors he no longer saw. He enhanced the imagery within his minds eye, making his expressions on canvas clearer because of the visual fog. James Earl Jones became famous as a particularly talented voice actor. This is an impressive victory for someone that struggled with stuttering. His teacher would have him recite poetry in front of the class, making him face his fear, & diminish its hold on him by in the process. FDR became a master of public perception through his efforts to hide his disability due to Polio. Take time to consider the most difficult experiences in your personal history. I remember a decisive moment in my life that I found thereafter to be my own metric for measuring manhood. It was easy to see the change that occurred in me due to facing the things I considered avoiding. I sincerely hope you too can see the purpose in your hardships. Perhaps they are precisely what molds you into an embodiment of greatness.